Poster Submission Update — Good News!

Dear all,

As we are closing in on the submission deadline for posters (Sept. 12) I wanted to share some good news. The ISITDBT Board has confirmed that ISITDBT is a non-competitive conference. This means that if you are presenting your DBT-related data at another conference (like ABCT), you can also present it at ISITDBT!

We will provide some specific language to add to posters about this, but now you have the chance to double your citations in one fell swoop.

Please feel free to backchannel with any questions to



Some folks are wondering who has won awards before… well here you go.

1997   Marsha was honored- no award given

1998   Charlie Swenson—Founder’s Award

2001    Kate Comtois – Science Award

2002   Alec Miller –Service Award;   Charlie Swenson—Cindy Sanderson Educator Award

2003   Alan Fruzzetti –Service Award

2004    Martin Bohus –Research Award

2005   Tom Lynch –Research Award

2006    Bev Long and Joan Russo — Service Award

2007    Rosemarie Karparis, R.N., M.P.H. –Service Award; Shari Manning –Leadership

2008   Kelly Koerner –Service Award

2009   Heidi Heard and Michaela Swales—Cindy Sanderson Educator Award, joint recipients

2010    Shelley McMain – Research Award

2011    Linda Dimeff – Cindy Sanderson Educator Award

Rachel Higier (UCLA) – Student Research Award

2013   Alan Fruzetti – Research Award

Tell us. Did we miss any?

ISITDBT 2014 Call for Posters and Award Nominations

We are just a few months away from this year’s International Society for the Improvement and Teaching of Dialectical Behavior Therapy (ISITDBT) conference, which will be held on Thursday, November 20, 2014 in Philadelphia, PA. Once again, it will be held in conjunction with the annual conference of the Association of Behavioral and Cognitive Therapies (ABCT; Here is some information to start getting you excited!

REGISTRATION: Registration will open up on or near September 1, 2014. All registration will occur online through our website and only credit cards will be accepted for payment. For an additional small fee, we will provide 6 hours of CE credits for psychologists and social workers.


At long last, we are officially ready to receive your submissions for posters. Our poster session will be held at the end of the day in conjunction with a cocktail hour. There is always a lively and engaged audience! Appropriate topics include pilot trials of an adaptation or novel use of DBT, or, basic studies on DBT-relevant topics such as emotion regulation, borderline personality disorder, suicidal behavior, and/or team or therapist behaviors. Submissions should include a title, list of authors and affiliations, and an abstract, and should not exceed one page in length. ***Please clearly note in your submission if the first author is a student. Submissions are due September 12, 2014 and should be sent to


The award recognizes outstanding service to the field of DBT. This includes those individuals who have contributed to the field in some notable way, either through training, dissemination of services, or in some other fashion.  Please take a moment to recognize either yourself or a colleague who you feel has contributed their time and effort to furthering the mission of the DBT community.  Some prior recipients of this award include Dr. Alec Miller (2002) and Valerie Porr (2001). The due date for nominations for the 2014 ISITDBT Service Award is September 12, 2014.  Please consider honoring your colleague by taking the time to write your rationale for a deserving member of the DBT / BPD clinician/research community.  

The submission requirements for the DBT Service Award are as follows:

1. A minimum of 1 nomination letter (self-nominations are welcome)

2. Nominee’s CV

Please send submissions to

Please disseminate this notice widely and forgive any cross-postings of this email. If you have any questions or comments, please feel free to email me at I look forward to seeing you in November!

Best wishes,

Lynn McFarr, Ph.D., Program Chair
Harbor-UCLA Medical Center

Lily Brown, M.A.
Program Committee Member